Jump to content
Zaziuma

Yu-Gi-Oh! Ruling Questions

Recommended Posts

Hello there, you are probably here because you have a question regarding a ruling on a card, or a scenario you want to know how would play out etc. The good people of this site will attempt to help you as best they can, myself included. If you have just started playing the game, check out the official rulebook first here: https://img.yugioh-card.com/en/rulebook/SD_RuleBook_EN_10.pdf

To get the most out of this thread, I hope you will follow my suggestions written below, these are not rules, obviously forum rules apply, but I can't tell you how to post, but I think you'll find this thread better to use if you follow my suggestions:

  • Staying on topic is important, this is for asking and answering questions, not for discussing cards and Deck builds, you can post those here: http://neocardmaker.com/forum/index.php?/forum/15-yu-gi-oh/
  • Questions about custom cards is not discouraged, but be aware that not every situation exists in the real game, so your custom card scenario may not be answerable. Your card may have a real counterpart, so look up cards with similar effects and check their rulings before asking here.
  • Try only to post a single question at a time. If you have similar connected questions, feel free to ask them, but try not to make a list of 10 random questions, not only are you unlikely to get a response to every question, but it spams the thread as well, which nobody likes and may be against forums rules.
  • Post the full card names if possible and avoid using acronyms that may be too obscure or fan names, memes etc. While most people know that MST and BTH stand for Mystical Space Typhoon and Bottomless Trap Hole respectively, when the card is very new, or it's a rarely used card, say the full name, or even better, post an image or the card text and other relevant information.
  • When responding to a post, linking to a source is helpful. Sometimes, that isn't possible, or the question is so simple that it isn't needed, but it helps give credibility and gives a "case-law" so to speak.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Official Articles

Rulebook

http://www.yugioh-card.com/en/rulebook/SD_RuleBook_EN_10.pdf

Link Monsters

See page 12 of the rulebook (linked above) for basic information about Link Monsters.

Link Monster Vocabulary: https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=8318
Extra Link: https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=8355

Problem-Solving Card Text (PSCT)

Spoiler

Part 1 - Reading the Cards of Tomorrow: https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=2906
Part 2 - New Words & Phrases: https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=2915
Part 3 - Conditions, Activations, and Effects: https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=2947
Part 4 - The Clues on Your Cards: https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=2962
Part 5 - Special Summons: https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=3111
Part 6 - Recap: https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=3140
Part 7 - Conjunction Functions: https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=4514

Fast Effect Timing

http://www.yugioh-card.com/en/gameplay/fasteffects_timing.html

The Damage Step

http://www.yugioh-card.com/uk/gameplay/damage.html

Rivalry of Warlords and Gozen Match

http://www.yugioh-card.com/ygo_cms/ygo/all/uploads/CardFAQ_Rivalry-of-Warlords_Gozen-Match-1.pdf

Tournament Policy & Penalty Guidelines

Policy
https://www.yugioh-card.com/en/gameplay/penalty_guide/YGO_Tournament_Policy_v_2018June01.pdf
https://www.yugioh-card.com/en/gameplay/penalty_guide/KDE-US_TCG_Tournament_Policy_v2018June01.pdf

Penalty Guidelines
http://www.yugioh-card.com/en/gameplay/penalty_guide/Penalty_Guidelines_v_2018June01.pdf

Unofficial Articles

YGOrganization Demystifying Rulings Series

YGOrganization Rulings Articles

Spoiler

Effects that Allow Multiple Normal Summons: https://ygorganization.com/doublesummonlist
Cards that can be Used in the Damage Step: https://ygorganization.com/that-wacky-damage-step
Phase-Specific Trigger Effects: https://ygorganization.com/how-to-handle-the-standby-phase-end-phase-and-end-step-of-the-battle-phase
Effect Negation Interaction: https://ygorganization.com/advanced-rulings-negation-effect-interactions
Trigger Effects and Location: https://ygorganization.com/advanced-rulings-location-matters (Note: Consult the Head Judge at your event for rulings regarding this in the Americas.)
ATK/DEF Modification: https://ygorganization.com/atk-def-modification-and-you
Psi-Blocker and Prohibition: https://ygorganization.com/prohibition
Perfect Rule Book 2017: https://ygorganization.com/perfect-rulebook-2017 (Translation of the 2017 Perfect Rule Book.)

 

Edited by Alice

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
18 hours ago, Zaziuma said:

Questions about custom cards is not discouraged, but be aware that not every situation exists in the real game, so your custom card scenario may not be answerable. Your card may have a real counterpart, so look up cards with similar effects and check their rulings before asking here.

Cards that don't exist don't have rulings.

If you want to know more about a certain mechanic, ask a question pertaining to that mechanic (construct a scenario that can actually happen).

Otherwise, you should make your own custom rulings for your custom cards where there is no precedent. You can strengthen your decision by asking questions here.

18 hours ago, Zaziuma said:

Try only to post a single question at a time. If you have similar connected questions, feel free to ask them, but try not to make a list of 10 random questions, not only are you unlikely to get a response to every question, but it spams the thread as well, which nobody likes and may be against forums rules.

I don't care about this; feel free to ask as many questions as you need as long as they're good questions.

You should be much more wary about asking good, thoughtful questions rather than the number of questions you ask or how related they are to each other.

Be mindful about taking in answers to your questions and take the time to learn the mechanics introduced to you by them. What's truly unappreciated is when a user asks a question about a certain mechanic and certain cards, only to come back later to ask the same question about the same mechanic, just with different cards. They've absorbed only the interaction, and are wasting time here by asking the same question multiple times in a row.

Quantity of questions itself is not an issue.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Alice said:

Cards that don't exist don't have rulings.

If you want to know more about a certain mechanic, ask a question pertaining to that mechanic (construct a scenario that can actually happen).

Otherwise, you should make your own custom rulings for your custom cards where there is no precedent. You can strengthen your decision by asking questions here.

I don't care about this; feel free to ask as many questions as you need as long as they're good questions.

You should be much more wary about asking good, thoughtful questions rather than the number of questions you ask or how related they are to each other.

Be mindful about taking in answers to your questions and take the time to learn the mechanics introduced to you by them. What's truly unappreciated is when a user asks a question about a certain mechanic and certain cards, only to come back later to ask the same question about the same mechanic, just with different cards. They've absorbed only the interaction, and are wasting time here by asking the same question multiple times in a row.

Quantity of questions itself is not an issue.

As I said, I cannot force people to do anything, and if people want to post a lot of questions, they can, and while I would personally probably not decide to answer 10 questions at a time, some people like you may want to do that, and that's great, because it's likely to happen.

Also, could I post those links you provided in the first post? In a spoiler box, since those take up a bit of space. It's more likely people will read the first post rather than the second.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 hours ago, Zaziuma said:

As I said, I cannot force people to do anything, and if people want to post a lot of questions, they can, and while I would personally probably not decide to answer 10 questions at a time, some people like you may want to do that, and that's great, because it's likely to happen.

I'm disagreeing with the guideline, not accusing you of forcing a rule

 

17 hours ago, Zaziuma said:

Also, could I post those links you provided in the first post? In a spoiler box, since those take up a bit of space. It's more likely people will read the first post rather than the second.

Leave it be

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nothung the Starlight vs. effect damage-halving effects (e.g. Magician's Defense, Ghostrick Mansion)
Nohung reads as:
If this card is Special Summoned: Inflict 800 damage to your opponent, then 1 face-up monster your opponent controls loses 800 ATK and DEF. You can only use this effect of "Blackwing - Nothung the Starlight" once per turn. During your Main Phase, you can Normal Summon 1 "Blackwing" monster in addition to your Normal Summon/Set. (You can only gain this effect once per turn.)

AFAIK, it is a case of "A, then B" effect, which means A has to happen to proceed with the next effect. But, if the opponent is under any effect damage-halving effect, then Nothung would inflict 400 damage instead of 800. Does this means the B effect cannot follow up, because the condition of A having to inflict specifically 800 damage is not being fulfilled, and thus it cannot apply the ATK/DEF reduction?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


My opponent activates Mystical Space Typhoon, targeting my set Compulsory Evacuation Device. I respond with Compulsory as Chain Link 2, targeting a monster and returning it to the hand. What happens to the Compulsory?

 

2nd question:
My opponent activates the first effect of Knightmare Unicorn, targeting my set Compulsory Evacuation Device. I respond with Compulsory as Chain Link 2, targeting Unicorn and returning it to the Extra Deck. What happens to the Compulsory?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

According to YGO wikia, there is a rule that goes as:
"An 'activated' Normal Spell, Ritual Spell, Quick-Play Spell, Normal Trap or Counter Trap will be unaffected by an effect that tries to return it to hand or deck."
Although I have yet to locate an official source or statement from Konami.

Sources: 1, 2, 3

Following that rule, Compulsory Evacuation Device should be destroyed by Mystical Space Typhoon in the first case, and go to the GY in the second one.
a

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We all probably know there are some illegal combos of Pole Position, right?
I was wondering what the procedure was exactly between:
A ) The cards involved in the loop all get destroyed and the duel keeps going as normal.
B ) Players are not allowed to play the cards that would create the state of a pointless infinite loop. Basically you can almost have said game-state, you are just not allowed to complete it.

I'm guessing B is the norm but A is in the event that a chain of effects make it inevitable somehow, but I wanna make sure.
In the instance that B is the way it works then:

Scenario. The only monster on either player's field is an Ojama King on your side. You activate both Pole Position and Ojama Country.
Would that mean that the move that would complete the loop and therefore be illegal to make, is either player Summoning any monster with 3000 or less ATK or DEF? Anything that wouldn't be stronger than Ojama King at all times (with or without Ojama Country's stat swap). Essentially making a soft floodgate of sorts?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/27/2019 at 7:09 PM, Sleepy said:

We all probably know there are some illegal combos of Pole Position, right?
I was wondering what the procedure was exactly between:
A ) The cards involved in the loop all get destroyed and the duel keeps going as normal.
B ) Players are not allowed to play the cards that would create the state of a pointless infinite loop. Basically you can almost have said game-state, you are just not allowed to complete it.

I'm guessing B is the norm but A is in the event that a chain of effects make it inevitable somehow, but I wanna make sure.
In the instance that B is the way it works then:

Scenario. The only monster on either player's field is an Ojama King on your side. You activate both Pole Position and Ojama Country.
Would that mean that the move that would complete the loop and therefore be illegal to make, is either player Summoning any monster with 3000 or less ATK or DEF? Anything that wouldn't be stronger than Ojama King at all times (with or without Ojama Country's stat swap). Essentially making a soft floodgate of sorts?

AFAIK the procedure is B, unless there was any recent change that I missed.
Thus, in that scenario I think it effectively would be a softlock/floodgate. I tried to look up if Pole Position could actually affect monsters with 0 ATK for technical reasons (e.g. 0 ATK is practically no ATK so it cannot be "the highest ATK" at any time), but couldn't find anything so I assume its effect still applies when the only monster(s) on board has 0 ATK. Otherwise the loop would already be set up with Ojama Country + Ojama King + Pole Position.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

https://yugipedia.com/wiki/Flower_Cardian_Lightflare

If a Flower Cardian Lightflare attacks another Flower Cardian Lightflare, what happens with " If a "Flower Cardian" monster you control battles an opponent's monster, that opponent's monster has its effects negated during the Battle Phase only."

Do they both get negated

Does neither one get negated?

I have 2 custom cards with the exact same effect wording except replacing Flower Cardian with a different archetype so I'm curious

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have  question in regards to the monster card HalloHallo.

If HalloHallo is in the Pendulum Zone can you still use its tuning ability to preform a Synchro Summon or must HalloHallo be in the Monster Card Zone to use such an ability?

I apologize if this is not placed in the right area, but I couldn't find any other place that was as close as this one to post my question.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 7/14/2021 at 1:29 PM, Wardragonmon said:

I have  question in regards to the monster card HalloHallo.

If HalloHallo is in the Pendulum Zone can you still use its tuning ability to preform a Synchro Summon or must HalloHallo be in the Monster Card Zone to use such an ability?

I apologize if this is not placed in the right area, but I couldn't find any other place that was as close as this one to post my question.

No you cannot. You can only perform synchro summons with monsters on field. They are not monsters while in the pendulum zone.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...